“Today isn’t my birthday, but it might be yours  . . . ”

In 1997 my mom gave me the book, Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach.  When I came to the reading on December 18 I resonated with Sarah’s message:  Choose how you will celebrate your birthday, for no one else will be able to celebrate you in the best way because, “no one knows the year you’ve just completed; no one else has lived it.”

Sarah then writes about her birthday ritual.

I have adopted part of that ritual for over a decade.  Some time around my birthday I celebrate by lighting a tea light for every year of my life . . .

And as I light each candle I reminisce about that year of my life, offering gratitude for the grace that year held.  For the past seven years Andrew has participated in this little ritual with me.

The more years I add, the lighter the room becomes.  But there is something true and good about that . . . more years, more light . . . that is good.

Happy Birthday!

 

